How Many ‘King Kong’ Movies Are There?

As of 2021, there have been 13 King Kong movies produced in the film franchise featuring everyone’s favorite primate monster. Kong’s incredible run began way back in 1933 with the release of “King Kong,” and he’s still going strong today.

Here is a quick rundown of the full baker’s dozen “King Kong” movies …

King Kong (1933)

“King Kong” the original Kong movie, was released in 1933. The film tells the story of a filmmaker who travels to Skull Island and captures Kong, an enormous prehistoric ape that eventually takes the man’s girlfriend as his love interest.

Son of Kong (1933)

“Son of Kong,” the follow-up to “King Kong,” was released just one year later in 1933. The movie tells the story of how a film crew is trapped on an island with a miniature — but still huge — version of Kong, who helps the humans survive after much turmoil.

King Kong vs. Godzilla (1962)

This film was the first crossover between two of Hollywood’s most famous monsters, Godzilla and Kong. Here, atomic testing jolts the two monsters awake, and then end up fighting each other, wreaking havoc on Tokyo in the process.

King Kong Escapes (1967)

The sixth film in the King Kong series, “King Kong Escapes,” was released as a sequel to Toho’s 1962 Godzilla movie. It tells how Kong defeats a mechanical robot version of himself to escape an evil scientist and swim back to his home on Skull Island.

King Kong (1976)

Featuring Jessica Lange, “King Kong” was a remake of the original 1933 classic. It tells how an oil company representative escorts a group of scientists and journalists to a mysterious island where they find King Kong — they take him back to New York, but not before he falls in love with Dwan (Lange).

King Kong Lives (1986)

“King Kong Lives” reveals that King Kong survived the fall from the World Trade Center in 1976 but that he has been on the brink of death. He is taken to a research lab, where scientists try to restore his health by bringing in a giant female ape to donate blood — the two fall in love and … mate!

The Mighty Kong (1998)

Released in 1998, “The Mighty Kong” was a direct-to-video musical version of the famous Kong story, this one starring Dudley Moore.

Kong: King of Atlantis (2005)

Released in 2005, “Kong: King of Atlantis” is an animated kaiju. It tells how Psyches captures Kong and wants to use him to enslave the Atlantean people.

King Kong (2005)

Released in 2005, “King Kong” is the remake of the famous 1933 film. It tells how a filmmaker and her crew captures King Kong on Skull Island and brings him back to New York.

Kong: Return to the Jungle (2006)

Released in 2006, “Kong: Return to the Jungle” is a sequel to the 2005 remake. It tells how King Kong returns from New York and battles other monsters so he can reclaim his home on Skull Island.

Kong: Skull Island (2017)

Released in 2017, “Kong: Skull Island” is a reboot of the 2005 remake. It tells how an expedition crew travels to Skull Island and discovers King Kong there.

Godzilla vs Kong (2021)

Released in 2021, “Godzilla vs Kong” is a sequel to the 2017 reboot. It tells how Godzilla and King Kong face off on Skull Island for supremacy of that island territory.

(Like ‘King Kong’ Movies? Then you might like our article on Original ‘Donkey Kong’ Characters, click here.)

(affiliate links)

King Kong [New Blu-ray]

End Date: Friday 10/20/2023 00:45:38 EDT
Buy it now | Add to watch list

Article By :