Get your FREE list of every 1980s primetime TV show!

(Check your email for download instructions.)

Note: When you click on links to various merchants in this post and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network and Amazon Associates.

The Ed Grimley Cartoon You Forgot About (or Would Like To)

You know that Ed Grimley is one of the most iconic skits ever to grace the stage of Saturday Night Live, but did you know that the beloved (and slightly feared) Martin Short character also spawned an Ed Grimley cartoon?

Well, it did … briefly.

From early September of 1988 through early December of that same year, The Completely Mental Misadventures of Ed Grimley ran on NBC as part of their Saturday morning cartoon lineup.

The show was and remains the only kids adaptation of an SNL (or SCTV, for that matter) skit/character to make it to the annals of Saturday morning animation.

This was a Hanna-Barbera production and featured, quite naturally, the voice stylings of Short himself in the lead role … so there was plenty of firepower behind the endeavor.

Maybe the thing was just too much like Pee-Wee’s Playhouse, or maybe the creepiness of Grimley was just too much when pushed into the cartoon realm and presented to kids after a long week at school.

Whatever the case, the show couldn’t gain a foothold in ratings and was gone after just 13 episodes.

Whatever the case, we’ll always have episodes, or at least snippets of them, on YouTube and on other outlets across the interwebs. And, what we can’t find, we can imagine from the list of titles.

To wit, here is a listing of all 13 episodes of the Ed Grimley cartoon, a most gnarly collection if ever there was one.

Episode #Episode TitleOriginal Air Date
1Tall, Dark & HansomSeptember 10, 1988
2Ed’s DebutSeptember 17, 1988
3E.G., Go HomeSeptember 24, 1988
4Ed’s in Hot WaterOctober 1, 1988
5Crate ExpectationsOctober 8, 1988
6Grimley, P.F.C.October 15, 1988
7Moby Is LostOctober 22, 1988
8Good Neighbor EdOctober 29, 1988
9Driver EdNovember 5, 1988
10Blowin’ in the WindNovember 12, 1988
11Eyewitness EdNovember 19, 1988
12Eddy, We Hardly Knew YeNovember 26, 1988
13The Irving Who Came to DinnerDecember 3, 1988

(Like Ed Grimley? Then you might like our article on Mary Katherine Gallagher, click here.)

(affiliate links)

Saturday Night Live: Season 2, 1976-1977

End Date: Saturday 06/24/2023 09:17:19 EDT
Buy it now | Add to watch list

Saturday Night Live: Season 1, 1975-1976

End Date: Tuesday 06/06/2023 14:10:57 EDT
Bid now | Add to watch list

Saturday Night Live: The Complete Fifth Season (DVD)

End Date: Saturday 07/01/2023 00:30:58 EDT
Buy it now | Add to watch list

Article By :